Dr. Shittu and colleagues receive Sloan Foundation grant to study community solar programs

March 04, 2019

Dr. Ekundayo Shittu and co-principal investigators Dr. Saniya LeBlanc (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), Dr. Payman Dehghanian (Electrical and Computer Engineering), and Ms. Donna Attanasio (Law) have received a one-year, $115,000 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation award for their project, titled “Examining Community Solar Programs to Understand the Factors Influencing Adoption Trends and Patterns.”

The project seeks to examine how stakeholders (utilities, investors, and municipalities) have invested in community solar programs (CSP). The focus will be on the accessibility of low and middle income (LMI) earners to CSPs. Of critical interest is the examination of how LMI households’ access to CSPs vary in states with and without enacted shared solar policies. Prof. Scott Sklar, the Director of GW’s Solar Institute, is senior personnel on the project.